top of page

School Bus Driver Celebrity?

Is there such a thing as a "School Bus Driver Celebrity"? You probably say no! In the grand scheme of things, I would agree with you but people can make an ordinary School Bus Driver feel like a Celebrity ;) ever thought of that? Neither did I to be honest but then this happened...


I signed up for Summer work this year. Since I only started driving in October 2019, Covid 19 hitting the world in March of 2020, being out of work for a long time, not having the experience many other drivers have, I figured it would be good to keep on driving this summer. Work, make the extra money to help support the family and all while keep working on my skill, staying in the loop of things. I often say it is easy to be a School Bus Driver and it honestly is but I like being able to refine my skill. Especially backing up a 40ft (or even a 45 ft - DOT regulated) school bus is something I feel confident in but like to keep doing it to get better at it. I knew the first and last 2 weeks of school break are usually the slowest and if we decided to go on vacation we could schedule that as well as doctors appointments and more during this time. So we did :) We left right after school let out for a few days in Virginia and the day we were going to head home, I got a phone call from work. Dang, they have great timing or maybe I do, who knows. My boss lady asked if I would be interested in working the upcoming Saturday and I thought it would be something small and simple. Maybe a group going tubing or such and I have done that before. I felt confident I would be ok and jumped on the opportunity to work. We talked a minute and I said I would stop by the office to get all the final information when I got back to town and I did. What I got, I didn't expect.

A Pub Crawl, in Philadelphia!!! WAIT, WHAT?! Are they crazy? They realize that I have never driven in the City, right? They know that I have never even been on a school trip to the Zoo or the Museum in the City, right? They know I may be one of the drivers with the least experience but they trust me to drive in the City?! Those tiny roads, roads where people park to the last inch of a corner and they want me to move a 45 ft bus around there? I was nervous, I was scared. Think about it, not only had I never driven a bus in the city but the cost of a new school bus and the accidents that could happen, I have people's lives in my hands there. Oh, my heart, my stomach was in knots but dang, I have to do what needs to be done and I had to figure it out somehow. First things first, Google Maps is my buddy and I checked out all of the locations I would be traveling to and overall, they looked pretty easy to get to and when I realized Center City had one location my heart dropped again, but I thought, there are big buses in Center City all the time, I should be ok. By the time I realized that the following stop would be in South Philly, my heart was in my shoe and my stomach was twisting wild and crazy. The final stop seemed to be ok but gosh was I wrong but more about that later. I planned on taking my car and doing the run to get a feel for it but then life happened like it often does and I never got around to it. So here I was, the day of the Pub Crawl and I was going to wing it the best I could, even so, the nerves were blank.


I picked up the group of ladies at their home and my first concern was not backing the bus up into their lawn when I had to get out but I don't know what I was worried about because these ladies walked out of the house and onto the bus and changed me completely. As soon as they got in for some odd reason or another I felt like I am home. I felt a calm come over me like I was sitting in front of the computer with a cup of coffee, writing another "bus baby blog" while thinking of funny stories that happened on the school bus. An inner peace of sorts, a just truly comfortable with what I was going to do next and how it all would be fine. They asked if they could decorate the bus. They ASKED! It was the strangest thing because for special events like this one was, they can always do things such as decorate, bring coolers, bring snacks but they asked. It made me feel special that they would ask if it was ok... I am just the driver, please, do! Please, have a wonderful time and enjoy yourself that's what I am here for! What a lovely job they did with the bus. Different decorations were hung and photos of the happy couple were placed. It looked amazing. Simple but amazing.


We headed to the first stop and it sucked because I had to let them out on the "wrong side" in School Bus Terms speaking - in other words, had to let them out in the street. I jumped off the bus to stop traffic, making sure nothing would happen to these wonderful people who within minutes made me feel so calm and comfortable, and special. The second stop wasn't difficult to maneuver with the bus but now, they made me feel like a celebrity when they came to the bus, cheering my name, cheering me on while we were traveling to the third location and I wanted to laugh and cry. I am just the bus driver but for them, I was someone so special, that they want to cheer me on. It was a tight street, with cars line to the corner, and backing up the bus in such tight quarters always is difficult but I managed with cheers from these amazing ladies in the background. They gave me strength, confidence, and a kind of "superpower". Gosh, my heart grew with every minute I got to spend with them. On the way to stop #3, oh my heavens, here it was again, the tight street, the cars lined to the corner, this time no chance of backing up and adjusting the bus if needed, here I was going to smack a car in the butt, with it being one of those super small streets and sure enough, cars lined all the way to the corner. I started to sweat bullets, nervous, again but as I heard them in the background cheering again, I took a deep breath and made it happen ;) WE DID IT! Even so, I was the one driving, it felt like such a team effort... My confidence had grown leaps and bounds. At one stop, while waiting for the best group to come back, I sat outside the bus for a while, and eventually, the PD stopped by. Oh my, I thought, now I am in hot water but they were the nicest officer ever. They explained that I had to move to a close-by area and try to get parking because the PPA would be around soon, to tow cars away. I decided to go check out the area they told me about but when I couldn't find proper parking and being concerned I would get too far away from my group I swung around towards the area I had to be in and with my newly found, fueled by this wonderful group confidence, I was just going to march my butt over to the PPA and ask them if it would be ok if I would hang a little bit until my group came back. I would even give them a speech of " hey, they are the smartest ladies, who are doing the right thing, being responsible and safe" if I had to but it never came to that. As soon as I parked the bus, and headed out, here came the most amazing ladies, cheering my name again. My heart leaped and bounced and grew even bigger. I was asked if I would drive their wedding too and I told them if work would allow it, it would be my absolute pleasure to drive them again. We went on to the last destination and it was difficult to maneuver this one. Slim City Streets and constructions and everyone must have been out that night. It was scary but I wouldn't let my ladies down! I could do it, they knew I could do it and I knew I could and so I did.

When I picked them up again, we had an additional passenger and it was wonderful to meet the other half to my half who was just as wonderful as the rest! Hey, did you really expect anything different? I was thrilled to have them together and I was going to ensure that they would all get home safely. I kept hoping that they had a good time, that they had everything that this night could have given to them. That they enjoyed the moments and that those moments will become wonderful memories for them to hold on to and cherish forever. I got them all home safely and again, they floored me!! They took down their decorations, even picked up a few pieces of popcorn that fell on the floor even so I told them they didn't have to do any of it, they did it! Again I was wowed by these wonderful people. I felt blessed beyond measure that for my first run in Philly, I had these wonderful, kind, caring women with me! I felt lucky, proud, happy and most of all special, thanks to each and every one of them. The next day I send a text to the contacts I had and thanked them for their kindness and that I hoped that they had a wonderful time.

They did and it meant the world to me!


The next day, I texted Ms. Erika (the bride-to-be) to make sure they had a wonderful time and to thank them for having me as a driver. I do weird things like that. I check-in before the trip and after, to ensure I have the correct times, to ensure that everything was in order and they had a good time. It's important to me that I do a good job, no matter if I drive my school runs or private parties.


What came next, I never ever in my wildest dreams expected. Ms. Erika send an email, to my "Trip Lady" with a request for me to drive the wedding! HOLY CANOLLI! They would go out of their way, to write an email to request me to be their driver? WOW! I couldn't wrap my head around it and I jumped for joy and excitement and now that heart of mine wanted to bust in a million pieces, pride was about to blow my head apart! Me?! For Real?! I couldn't even begin to wrap my head around it but wanted to dance and honestly, I don't dance unless I am drunk but I wanted to dance!!


The week of the wedding, once I had the paperwork from work, I texted Ms. Erika to check on the times, as well as the location of pick up/ drop off. I told her how excited I was for both of them cause I truly was and tried to give her a piece of mind letting her know she wouldn't have to worry about anything when it came to the transportation of the guests, that I would have it covered. When she responded, I could read the nervousness in between the lines and I tried to comfort her that everything would be ok, that every last loose end would get tied, and that they would have the best day of their lives. I wanted to get them a card and write a ton of good wishes in there for them but sadly, there is no card big enough to fill with all the well wishes I had for them so I wrote a letter to add to the card.


On the day of the wedding, I think I was as nervous as they must have been. I wanted to do the best job for them and got some decorations to add to the bus, kinda lift it up a little, make it a little special, a little more than just a school bus but most of all, I wanted them to be happy and have the best time because they so deserved it. I wanted them to know how special they were to me and how much all of it meant to me. As I was heading to the hotel to pick up the guests, I was wondering who would be riding with me, if I would be seeing people who were on the pub crawl or if it would be all different people but I wasn't nervous one tiny bit because I knew, if they are friends and family of Ms. Erika, they would be lovely, wonderful people! The first couple of guests got on when I spotted a face I saw before and my excitement rose a bunch more. It was her Aunt who was on the Pub Crawl with us. As she got on the bus, she gave me the biggest smile a cheer, and a big hug and I wanted to cry. Again, the feeling of being someone so much more than just a bus driver overwhelmed me and my heart grew a bunch. Shortly after, another familiar face and a huge smile and a hug and at that time I thought this heart of mine was going to bust out of my chest. It was difficult getting the bus out of the tight parking lot without a large space to turn it around in but hey, they were with me through my first ride of Philly, I could handle this ;) and so I did. We headed to another Hotel to pick up more guests and off to the Venue we went.

When I arrived at the Venue, I couldn't believe my eyes!! Two of the bride's maids who were on the pub crawl were standing outside in beautiful dresses, waving at me, cheering and excitement and big shouts of "Anja" came my way and I had to hold myself together so the tears wouldn't roll down my face. A few words were exchanged, everyone went to the wedding and have a good time. I would be back later to pick them up again. When I showed up at 9 pm for my first pick up, the girl's again, surprised the life out of me. As I was sitting waiting, for people to come out, the people that came out were the last ones I expected. But here I was, 2 of the Bridesmaids and Ms. Erika wearing an absolutely stunning bridal gown came out to see me. Wait, what? You may think now... and yes, I had the exact thought. The Bride, leaving the wedding to come and see the Bus Driver? Yup!! She did just that. We took a picture together and she got to see the inside of the bus with the decoration and I think she really liked it :) She told me no one was going home at that time because the party was hopping and I truly believed it too. They told me I should come inside and it felt awkward because "I'm just the bus driver" but after parking the bus and taking a few deep breaths I walked into the venue. At first, I got a few awkward looks which I expected but when the Bridesmaids and Ms. Erika spotted me they came and got me and got me to dance with them. Again, I don't dance unless I am drunk but for them, I tried my best!! They offered me a seat, I was given a piece of the wedding cake to enjoy and the smile on my face was so so huge. I looked at the happy, newlyweds, dancing, having a blast and I was so so so happy for them. I wish I would have captured the look on Ms. Erika's and Ms. Stephanie's faces. The happiness, the joy, the love, they just glowed like the sparkliest stars up in the sky but I don't think any photo could have captured those moments so genuinely, as I saw it in those moments. They really had a blast. Surrounded by family and friends, they were dancing and celebrating the best day of their lives and my heart was so happy for them both. Tue love is hard to find but I saw it right there in front of me.


I drove a few shuttles back to the hotel later on in the night. On one of them, I had a bridesmaid and her significant other who asked me what I was doing the next weekend and I had to laugh, it wasn't a pick-up line as you may think but he was thinking about another event he may be working on in the future where a bus and driver would be needed for and I told them, I would gladly be their driver at any time ;) That time I got stuck in the parking lot of the hotel! It took me about 20 minutes to get the 45 ft bus out of the lot. I was inch worming that monstrosity out of the lot and decided, that after I would drop the next load off, I would back out cause it certainly would be much faster and easier!!


The last run of the night almost came too fast for me in a way because I really didn't want the night to end and having to say my final "see you later" to all these wonderful people. It made my heart heavy in a way. We took more photos and agreed we would share them with one another, I got to give them the card and the letter I wrote to them and I got to thank them again. The next day, I send the photo I had on my phone to Ms. Erika, told her Thank You again for everything, told them I wished them all the best and hoped they had a wonderful time. Ms. Erika send me the photos she had and made me cry !! She wrote me a few more text messages, told me how grateful they were that I was there, was able to enjoy a piece of their wedding cake, but then she hit me with a 2x4!! Or at least it felt that way and I totally lost my cool and cried like a whiny little baby. The text reads " Oh I forgot to tell you! You were in my sisters' maid of honor speeches!! It was amazing!" and later on she wrote, " They gave you a shout out and we all screamed woooo hoooo after they said your name". At that point, I really lost it. The overall of this experience with this wonderful group of people, that the bride would leave her party to come to the bus to see me and that the bridesmaids would call me out in their speech?! How does one person take all this in without crying a bunch of happy tears? I am just a bus driver, I am no one special but to them, I am. I am beyond grateful for all the experiences they have given me on the Pub Crawl and the day of their wedding. I am beyond grateful for the moments that will be part of my story and my memories to hold near and dear to my heart forever. I am beyond grateful for Ms. Erika and Ms. Stephanie, their families, and friends for all they did for a complete stranger, for just a bus driver.


I wish you all the best for your future, all the love, all the happiness, all the luck, all the health, all the best moments that will become the best memories. Thank You from the bottom of my heart! You guys will always hold a special part of mine, I will cherish you for always and I will forever be grateful to you all!











bottom of page