top of page

Wounded Warrior Project


THE GREATEST CASUALTY IS BEING FORGOTTEN!

The Wounded Warrior Project ...

Many blogs have been written about the Wounded Warrior Project, many comments and thoughts are out there on the internet when it comes to the Wounded Warrior Project and I understand not all of them are positive. Everyone has their own opinion in regards to what they do, how they do things and somewhere along the lines we have to agree to disagree.

Some of the programs that Wounded Warriors Project runs are the Odyssey's, different Events for Wounded Warrior Alumni's , Wounded Warrior Talk, help with VA claims, schools, job search, and just personal issues. Events & Retreats for the wifes/ caregivers and for the families. The Backpack program and so much more...

DISCLAIMER : This is our story and how we came to the Wounded Warrior Project and my personal thoughts. Neither I nor anyone of my family is or will be getting any special treatment, nor financial gain for me writing this blog. This is just truly our story and how we, most of all I feel! In addition, PLEASE REMEMBER, that PTSD, TBI is different for every Individual, starting from severety to how each individual copes, and deals with all PTSD & TBI brings along. Just because Wounded Warrior Project , their Odyssey and all the other things have helped my husband and my family, doesn't mean it will work for everyone the same way. PTSD and TBI is referred by us as "The Beast" many of times. This "Beast" causes havoc in many american families and for each it is different.

2003-2004

In 2003 , my husband deployed to Iraq with the US Army, returned 2004 via medivac. I will have to touch on some of the things that are going on so you understand it better but try not to go into too much detail because this would take away from the subject I really try to write about and explain. We just leave it at this,he is a WOUNDED WARRIOR. In 2004 however, the Wounded Warrior Project wasn't born yet...

A climpse of the years 2004 - 2014

When he first returned, there were so many changes, so much different, not the same and I didn't know what it all meant. Just thought it was "normal" for someone who has just returned from a War Zone. Trying to comprehend all the things he may have seen, trying to learn and understand what is going on and trying my hardest to keep our family together. Over the past 11 years, I learned that not only does my husband suffer from PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder), Major Depression Dissorder and TBI (Traumatic Brain Injury) but many more medical issues. Those 3 are his "invisible wounds" and they are so difficult to understand and live with. It wasn't just him who was affected by these invisible wounds, but all of us. We refer to them as "THE BEAST" - along the lines , you will learn and understand why we refer to them as "the Beast" .

At the time of his return, there were 4 of us. My husband myself and our 2 young sons at the age of almost 4 and a newborn. Often I sat and looked at him, trying to find the man I met and loved before the war. The man who was my "knight in shining armor" , the man who loved nothing more than his family, spending time and planning everything around the interest of a toddler, the man who wanted nothing more then to support his family and be the best father , husband and provider he could be. Sadly, I had to realize that this man had moved on and was replaced by a shell of anger, anxiety, panic, pain and struggles. Every now and again thou, I got a climps of the old. Was he broken ? He wasn't broken but so deeply hurt and saddened by all he had to see and all he had to face that this new him now was this man I didn't know. Giving up on him or on our family was never an option. He was my everything before the war and deep inside , I knew we could make it through any and all challenges that were there and we would find a way.

Over the next 10 year, we moved from one country to another, moved from one place to the next, jobs came and went, pleaded with him, fought with him, saw the highs and lowes of the Beast called PTSD with him but most of all, always loved him. PTSD/ TBI is a Beast to be reckoned with. You never know what to expect, day in and day out can be different, a split moment can flip your day around and turn it into pure hell.The sleepless nights, the ups and downs , often have I thought of walking out but then there was this split second where my knight in shining armour showed his face again and how do you walk away from the one you love more then life itself? Who would be here for him ? Who would help and support him if I gave up on him ? We don't have family here who would help out, step up when I was weak , beaten to the core by the Beast. I had to get up again, find my strength and keep on fighting. Afterall, now there is 5 of us and I will not stop fighting for my family and all they mean to me, the marriage vowels that say " in good times and in bad" ...

For 10 years, we battled with the VA, trying to get him help and support that I couldn't give him because I never have walked in his Army Boots, never have seen all he has seen. Besides not getting the help , the support he needed, nothing seemed to satisfy the Beast. The Beast sits so deep and doesn't stop but the Beast doesn't understand how much strength and power love has.

Throughout those 10 years, we have had 2 more children. Our 3rd son passed away and it brought the Beast out even more. It came at us with a vision of destroying us, eating us all alive. Then our daughter was born. He tried to be a dad but was faced with more challenges. Our children have seen things they never deserved to see. They had to grow up, live with a Dad who often just was a shell, who struggled and fought against the Beast each and every day. All they wanted was a Dad. A dad who would toss a football around with them, who would wrestle with them, sit and read books, go to ball games or other small things Dad's do... He tried, oh believe me he tried but often it was so hard for him that he had to retreat into himself and live a solitary life surrounded by those who love him the most. There are so many stories I could tell about how these kids have been growing up with all of it , how they have been coping and dealing with it all. Let me keep it short - these kids are the most amazing kids. Having had to see and deal with all they have seen , dealt with and all that may still come, they have turned out pretty darn AMAZING to say the least. They have a strength and compashion like no other. They struggle but always keep their heads up high and fight on. They have stepped up to help out when I was at a wits end and couldn't handle it all no more, they have been caregivers to their dad as much as I have. They ROCK!

As I mentioned before, we have been battling the VA, have been fighting our own war here on a daily bases,have been struggling and fighting the Beast for so long that we just learned our own little wiggle ways to get through the days the Beast was raging on without getting tired, without a stop the smallest break. Over the years, I kept trying to find a place to get him help, get us all help and support and hold this family together. Often , specially in the pre christmas time, we see commercials on TV about different organizations looking for donations. If it is for Pets, Children in 3rd Countries, a church or The Wounded Warrior Project. Some of us give as much or as little as our walltets allow us to the cause that is closest to our hearts. I have seen tons of commercials for the Wounded Warrior Project over the years , have donated the little we had and always thought if I can just help one , it will be well worth it. If the little that I can give, can help to get one of them the support they need to live on their own, I did the right thing. Knowing first hand how hard it is to get help from the VA, it seemed to be a worthy cause and one that is near and dear to my heart. I never looked at my husband as a "Wounded Warrior" because of the individuals I have seen in the commercials. We were blessed , he still had all his limbs, fingers and toes, wasn't burned but I also never realized, he is fighting "invisible wounds". Then things changed.The day I ones again opened the Wounded Warrior Projects Website to make the small contribution I could and saw a post about the "Invisible Wounds" and being a Wounded Warrior struggling with the invisible wounds. I sat him down and told him we need to contact Wounded Warrior Project and see if they can help him ,help us to make a difference in all of our lives. It was a very difficult conversation to hold with him because he , just like me looked at Wounded Warrior Project and thought of his brothers and sisters in arms who lost so much more. I begged and I pleaded with him ones again, asking what he had to loose by reaching out to them, asking questions ? What could go wrong? They could say "no" we can't help you but how would we loose anything? Wouldn't we gain something , even if it was just the knowledge that sadly they couldn't help. How often have we had gone to the VA, knocked on doors, tried to get help without sucess and after every "shot down" with them, collected our thoughts and strength and tried again. Why not give it a try.

Finally he agreed.

WOUNDED WARRIOR PROJECT STEPPED UP

From the moment he reached out to Wounded Warrior Project, things went crazy good! Within days, Wounded Warrior Project (WWP) sent him out a package, a hat, some information, stickers for the car. I wish I had taken a photo of him the day the package arrived and the look on his face. It was one of the best days ever. WWP made him feel so very special. With trembeling fingers and tears in his eyes, he opened the package and it was like someone just handed him a winning lottery ticket. For the first time in 10 years, he found a stranger , a worker at WWP who would go out of their way, to make him feel welcomed home and made him feel like his service and sacrifice was appreciated more then words could ever say. Yes, it may have just been a flyer of information, yes it may have "just" been a hat and a sticker but I can't put into words how much this meant to him.

The birthday's...

A few days before my birthday , the phone rang and as I looked at the display of the caller ID , I had no idea who it was but I answered the call. A gentleman asked me if I was Anja and when I replied yes, he introduced himself and explained to me that he is calling from the Wounded Warrior Project and that he just called to wish me a Happy Birthday.I lost it instantly and started to cry like a baby. I am no one special, not even a WWP Alumni, just a wife, a caregiver. Why would they take the time to call me ? Why would they care to make me feel special. Do you know why ? - Because the Greatest Casualty is being forgotten and they want to make sure that you as a caregiver know you are NOT forgotten and you are cared for just like all the Alumnis. I don't remember a happier or greater gift for my birthday then this one simple phone call. Since our birthdays - the hubby's and mine are really close together, I didn't want to tell him but I was such a mushy hot mess that I did tell him. In a sense I am glad I did because when his birthday came around, he too got a phone call from WWP wishing him a Happy Birthday. Knowing that it might come made it easier for him and even so it took the surprise out, it still meant the world to him. Just like it did for me.

The Odyssey

From the very begining of becoming a WWP Alumni , they jumped through loops to get him on one of their Odysseys. They gave him the option of either going at the end of Februrary 2015 or the end of March 2015 on an Odyssey. He didn't want to commit to either since our sons anniversary of his passing is the end of February and as he said "I don't want you to be alone" ( I still think he didn't want to be alone facing this day either ) and the end of March is our daughters birthday. I finally convinced him to go to the one in February and told him I would be ok facing this day without him and how I had the other kids to keep me occupied. It took a lot out of me to convince not just him but myself too. How was he going to fend without me, after all, I have been his caregiver for 11 years, have been there when things were good and when things were bad, have always been there to pick him up when he fell , supported him, loved him more then words can say. How was I going to do without him being here ? Not having him around to talk to, to keep me busy or just plain being able to see him sit there even when he was hiding in his shell, it was and still is one of the greatest blessings to be able to see him and know he is still here. How many others don't have this blessing no more?

The day came closer and we packed the bags. A lot of emails and calls from Greg ( one of the two people who do the odysseys in our region) came and went and his anxiety just kept on rising. He was nervous, worried, scared... What to expect, what will the people be like I am going to go there with? what if?... a truck load full of questions. The day came closer, the anxiety kept rising and all I could do was reassure him again and again that it all will be ok, that he will be ok, that it is just a couple of days and how he could handle it. How much trust and faith I had in him and how much I truly believed that this could make a difference for us all. The day he flew out was the worst. Just watching him struggle and fight the Beast, I didn't even want to take him to the airport but sit and hold him close like I did so many times before but I had to be strong, I had to send him off and see if it would help him and us all too.

The week went by so fast. Very little phone calls which was difficult on us both because at the end of each day, we are a team so strong and alone. We don't have no one else to truly count on 100% other then one another. The day he returned thou, was one of the greatest in a way and one of the worst too. He was exhausted, tired and just hid in his shell but that wasn't all, he couldn't remember things and it again made him very frustrated. He could remember a few things just not a lot , the Beast now took his memory too. I thought maybe it just was so much that happened, so much brought back from that drawer in the back of his head where he tried to hide things for no one to see, that maybe that is why he drew blanks, couldn't remember, was exhausted and just had to find his way again. At the same time I questioned if I made the right decision to send him off to the WWP Odyssey , or I was wrong for pushing it, almost shoving him out the door and on that plane. What had I done ? It took days and slowly some things came back and he talked about the guys he met, about Greg and Rachel and all they did for them. He started to say how great it was and how much fun he had, how amazing these guys were he met, how nice and understanding. The best day thou was when he said " I AM NOT ALONE" - Realizing that the Beast that rages in him and eats on him is also with so many others was the greatest thing and realizing that he can reach out and find the support , the open ear, the understanding with his fellow WWP Alumnis was the first step, the first ray of sunshine to hopefully a brighter future.

In the meantime, the Alumnis have opened up a social media group where they continue to connect with one another, help one another, ask questions and talk about concerns or just a "hey how are you" ... Besides that, there still are regular "check in" calls from Rachel who has been such a gem. Whenever we have questions or concerns, we can always pick up the phone or send an email to her and she will go above and beyond to get us the information we are looking for or just send us to the right person within the WWP Network to help us along. She just rocks!

Some Changes since the Odyssey

We are far from the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow and we know, understand and have come to the conclusion that there isn't a cure to truly kill "the BEAST" PTSD/TBI. However, thanks to WWP and the Odyssey, it has opened new doors, new possibilites, a new understanding for it all. Sometimes all you need is to understand that you aren't alone! That you are Not alone in fighting this Beast and live through the hell on your own. The peer mentors and your fellow Alumnis do jump in with suggestions and try to help you along your journey. Things have taken a turn here. He still struggles extremly with memory loss - short and long term memory loss which can be very difficult on him and the rest of us but we find ways through this. Our house can be covered with "to do lists" alongside pens and paper everywhere to help with that. - Just make sure you check them all. Having the great technology of cell phones and being able to add reminders to your calendar, or add notes with reminders is a helpful tool - use it. We learn and grow with the Beast. Again we may not be able to cure it to destroy it forever, but we can find ways to make things work.We know some of his triggers and have known some of them for a long time. Know to and how to avoid them and others, we are still learning about them. We have a action plan for when things go bad and try our best to understand how the Beast works and how to keep it in check or how to deal with it without letting it destroy us.

Two of the greatest things that have happened since the Odyssey and that have seriously floored me... Oh my heart! To most woman, getting flowers on certain occasions, a card, a fancy dinner etc. is normal, some even expect it on occasions such as Valentines Day for example. I learned not to expect anything because the Beast always decided to play games and ruin things. As a caregiver to a Veteran , it is often difficult to be on a social media site where you see what people do for one another, how they go that extra mile to make each other feel special, loved, cared for. I look at him and I know he wants to do these things, I know he wants to be that "knight in shining armor" and he fights each and every day to be just that but I also know, how hard it is on him and how much the Beast can eat on him, that prevents him from being just that. I know, it sounds like I am making up excuses for him but I honestly am not. Since the Odyssey, he truly tries to understand how I feel, tries to look at things differently, tries to make the changes.I guess you can imagine what it was like when one day after work, the hubby comes and out of nowhere hands me a card. I was floored, I was in tears , I was blown away. It wasn't anything outrageously huge. Just a card with sweet words but this simple , small sign of affection made me feel like I just hit the winning lottery ticket. Just thinking about it or looking at it as it sits on my night stand makes me choke up and gets me all teary eyed. Things have changed in the relationship he has with the children as well and here I go again, not being able to hold back the tears as my own memories make me see them. The relationsships have changed so much. Our oldest and my husband always have been two peas in a pod you might say. He is the quiet one, the one who also always lived and hid in a shell , besides being diagnosed with boarderline High Functioning Autism, he had to learn at a very early age that the best thing to do is to retreat into his own zone, hide in a shell, walk around on eggshells with his dad. Still there was a connection. The love they share for saxophones and music, held them together alongside how they now both were - hiding , living in the Zone. For the middle one it was all a lot harder, he is the outgoing social butterfly and just wanted to have a dad like his friends had. Tried hard to get this connection and build on it but more times then not had a door slammed in his face. The youngest had her ways to drag him out of the shell from time to time even just for the length of a 5 page book but she was happy with it. It was something. They all have had to witness things, they should never have had to over the last years. These kids struggled and were hurt by the Beast and there was nothing I could do to stop the Beast from attacking my children. Helpless and hopeless, I often had to stand there and just try to protect my kids. Seeing how things have changed since the Odyssey, make me cry happy tears. He now can go outside with the kids, throw a football, hit a baseball , jumping in the trampoline or let them try to hit a golf ball in the back yard. Sure often I worry they are going to knock the neighbors windows out but if that was the case, I would gladly pay for the window because I get to see this , see the joy , the love , hear the laughter and the giggles out of all. More often then not , now I run after them with my camera. Try to snatch pictures, keep the memories for the kids for us off the happy times we now share. Being able to see the smile that is on his face now a days, a smile that isn't just a blastered on mask but a smile that reaches his eyes and his soul is worth the daily struggles.It is worth the fight we fought for over a century now and it gives me strength to continue to fight the Beast. Even so , he may have missed a huge part of their lives due to the struggles and the war he fights with the Beast that lives within him, he now is standing tall, fighting even harder , even more to be more then a screaming , grouchy , angry, shell like Dad. He is fighting harder then all of us to be the BEST Dad these kids can ask for and he works so very hard to be my knight in shining armor and the best husband he can be and I am so very proud of him.WWP Odyssey, gave him the strength and all involved helped him to get to where he is today. So very grateful for the little things!

"WWP TALK"

Another one of the great Services WWP offers is called "Talk" . Its nothing fancy or crazy but it is nothing short of amazing and helpful. The hubby signed up with "Talk" recently and it is just so awesome. He was assigned to a "caseworker" but she isn't really a "caseworker" as you would think of someone such as a caseworker for an insurance claim for example. However, she does call him every week, same day to talk to him. To check up on him , to see how he is doing and if there is anything he needs or anything she can assist him with. Trust me when I tell you, this is a huge asset to him. Here too , it is the sense and the appreciation that someone cares about your well being and not just that, it is someone who is willing to jump through loops to help you. Even so it may just be an open ear, someone to talk to , a piece of mind, unless you live with the struggles and the difficulties that come with "The Beast" - PTSD you may not be able to understand how important this can be. We always have to remember that 22 Veterans commit suicide each day. That is 22 to many! Just to give you an idea, the VA can and will take up to 30 days to get you an appointment with a Mental Health Care Specialist, unless you walk into the VA Hosptial and tell them you are about to commit suicide and you need help NOW and might end up getting admitted. We have been down the road so many times that either we ended out with letters of a Mental Health Specialist , saying that he tried to call to set up an appointment but neither the house phone , nor the cell phones have shown records of an incoming call , we have gone through 4 different Mental Health Specialists but if you don't "connect" with them , it truly is a waste of time. PTSD is a huge complex thing on top of it all and a variety of approaches are out there on how to "cure" PTSD. Guess what, there is NO CURE for PTSD nor TBI. Having someone who isn't trying to "cure" you but just be there and listen, talk to you and connect with you is huge. Also it someone who is outside , someone who will not judge you or you have to face each day and feel bad because you just put a whole through the wall because the Beast was messing with you again, it isn't someone who tries to nippick the reason apart to why you did it. It isn't someone who you have to fight for to get an appointment with for a month prior. It is someone who cares, who will be there to make sure that you know you are not alone and most of all YOU ARE NOT FORGOTTEN!

The Backpack Program...

Sometimes I wish WWP would have been born before the hubby was deployed and medivaced out of Iraq and would have been welcomed by one one of the Backpacks they now have for each soldier who gets hurt and gets send back. It is something so simple. A backpack filled with a sweatsuit, underwear, socks and a shirt. Yes, it isn't "much" for the normal average person but for these soldiers who have given up everything, have nothing left this has such a huge impact. It is something that is theirs and theirs only.Besides being able to put on civilian clothing it again is a way of showing that someone cares, someone out there hasn't forgotten about you! I know it would have made an impact on him from day one but WWP wasn't born yet... You can however help and make a difference. If you don't want to or don't feel comfortable giving financial aid to WWP because of what you heard or believe. You can still purchase a Backpack which then will be given to a Wounded Warrior. Here is the link where you can purchase one and get more information. copy and paste this link in your browser : https://www.underarmour.com/en-us/wwp-backpack-gift/pidWW00001-001

The Post - Our WWP Family

Each week, we get an email from WWP called "The Post". The Post is an informational email in regards to what is going on or what kind of Events are going on and a sign up. This is a great way to connect to other Alumni's, connect and grow. This is a HUGE asset to Alumni's to connect with others, to get involved and help one another. It is huge for the families as well. If you joined the military , you learn quickly that you are surrounded by family! Your Military Family. They understand this life and let me tell you, it isn't an easy one. From times your spouse is gone to different Trainings, over the 24 hr. duty to deployments, being far from "home", or moving every 4 years, you learn to unpack boxes and make a home where ever they send you. Military Families are a tight knit community who will make friends fast and those friends become family. You can always lean on them when you are weak, you always have an open ear and support. At the time of my husbands deployment I was blessed with the greatest FRG Leader ( Family Readiness Group) out there and she helped us so very much. Throughout the time in the military, we made friendships that last a lifetime. When you leave active duty thou, everything is gone and it is very difficult to relearn the life of a civilian. Friendships aren't made as easy, you need to learn that you are alone and that you don't have this family no more who will jump in at the drop of a dime to help you in any way needed. Thanks to the Odyssey we have found this again - our Wounded Warrior Family. As I mentioned, they have all connected at the time of the Odyssey but it goes beyond that. They are still connected via phone calls, emails , text messages and often they discuss the different events that are send to us via "The Post" and try to sign up together, as a group , as a Family to get together again , spend time together.I got to meet Miguel and his wife Nancy first. Who happened to be in our area and I went out to meet them. They are the sweetest people and I found the connection I have been missing for many years - I was home. Finally home again. Wish I could hug them every day and tell them Thank You! Next , we were blessed to be able to meet up with 2 more of them at a recent event at Hershey Park and everyone brought their Families. It was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G to say the least. Tom and Tammy and their Kids, Dan and his wife Toya. The instant connection that was there, the understanding, laughter and joy. What a blessing! Tom's and our daughter just connected instantly and I loved watching the two girls together. Seeing the smiles not just on their faces but their eyes.We hope to get together with them many more times.They have helped us so much, not just with the daily things but with advice and help, support and understanding. Looking forward to the next time we can get together.

Thank you to Tony for all your hard work you put into organizing events and sending them out via "THE POST" Even so alot of the Events are far away from us and we can't attened them due to extented travel or not having anyone for our kids, we always sit, pray and hope that someone will find a connection at an event and that it will change their life forever.

.... Get involved, get together, it will help you so much and give you strength and at the same time, you can make a difference in someone elses life.

There are many more programs provided by Wounded Warrior Project and so much more help. Touching on each one, would take me weeks so I will conclude this for now. Just know from a WWP Families stand point - Every day, they do a lot for Wounded Warriors all over the country and all over the World. Wounded Warrior Project can not only be found in the US but also at the Landstuhl Military Regional Hospital in Landstuhl Germany.

The Wounded Warrior Courage Awards Gala

We recently had the great honor to be invited to the Wounded Warrior Courage Awards Gala held each year in the Waldorf Astoria in NYC , NY.

Remember, I am a small town girl from Germany, a simple person, no one fancy. I prefer to walk around in my t-shirt, shorts and flip flops in the summer time or jeans, hoodie and my sneakers in the winter time. We live a simple life, a small house , with a garden, growing veggies as a hobby, No fancy -shmancy can be found here.

Waldorf - Astoria , just hearing we were going to the Waldorf -Astoria threw me for a loop. I know of the Waldorf -Asotria in Berlin Germany and could already imagine what it would look like in NYC. Not only was this a huge deal going there but being invited to attened this Gala just blew my mind. It's a huge fundraising event for Wounded Warrior Project, with silent Auction and so much more. How was I going to fend at my first WWP Event ever, specially such a fancy one?!

Thanks to great friends, neighbors and our niece , who transfered me from the little small town girl into this fancy looking lady and who jumped to help out with the kids, we were really able to attened this event.

A tux was hanging in my old Mini Van, and I was heading out to pick up the hubby from a Seminar he was attenting. Managing to stop him in his tracks when he first saw me, made me want to cry again. Seeing him in his tux just a short time later blew my mind. He looked stunning. We headed up to NYC, got stuck in traffic at the Lincoln tunnel.This caused the anxiety levels to go through the roof and I seriously got worried. But eventually we made it.

It was mind blowing , stunning and I am lost for words at all that we saw there. The event was amazing. Over 1200 people showed up to support Wounded Warrior Project and to be at the Gala. Women in beautiful gowns, men in tuxedos and full military dress uniform and a lot of service dogs. It was just WOW! From the Cocktail Hour that was spread through a variety of rooms, seeing the items available at the Silent Auction was stunning. Sadly I saw the mask being blastered on his face again and was concerned and worried but he did try so hard and fought so hard to make this evening as memorable as possible. During the Cocktail Hour, we have found our WWP Family Member Miguel and had the great honor and pleassure to meet his Dad. What a sweet Man he is. Very happy to have had the chance to meet him. We happened to run into Greg - yes the Greg who ran the WWP Odyssey he went on in February and it was the greatest moment to be able to thank him for all he did for the husband in person. To talk to him and be able to hear about his involvement with WWP and how much he loves being able to give back to all those who gave so much. Seeing the passion in his eyes for his work with WWP was amazing and I am above and beyond grateful for what he does.

We went on to dinner, finding our table and being seated above a room full of people in a balcony like area.WOW! We had such a nice spot there. Were able to see everything, the stage, the tables and people below us and it was the perfect place for him. Being able to see everything that was around him gave him a sense of security. Again, it is one of those triggers we live with at all times. Being able to be aware off all his surroundings and the happenings around him makes it much easier on him. No matter what thou, being surrounded by these many people , in a crowded room is difficult to say the least. Yet again thou, he fought the Beast with all that he had.

As we were seated, appetizers were in place already and oh my heart , they were delicious. Soon the Event got started. From the color guard and the singing of the national anthem, to the table of the introduction of the table for the POWs, the Fallen Soldiers , MIA table, to the Gold Star Families being asked to stand up, WWP Alumni's being asked to stand up, over Caregivers , active duty and supporters being asked to stand up the greatest moment was when they asked Vietnam Veterans to stand up. The standing ovation for them went on and on and they deserve this and so much more.

The night went on with a variety of Awards being given out, different stories being told and each one was so very memorable. Stories of those those who have given so much for their country , their service to this great nation and the hidden heroes, the caregivers alongside those who have been great supporters of the Wounded Warrior Project. There was laughter and joy but there were many tears as well.

We set with people of Corporate America, Supporter of the WWP and they were all so kind. Asking questions, talking about different things but I think the hubby really got to them the moment he thanked them all for being supporters for the Wounded Warrior Project, for supporting him, us as a family and his 77000 - yes, seventyseventhousand Wounded Warrior Brothers and Sisters. It was a very touching and heartfelt moment and I was so very proud of him.

The night sadly came to an end faster then we had wanted it to come but besides the amazing food, the amazing ambiente, the wonderful people we got to meet, share a table with, talk to and be surrounded by, this night brought a lot of help and support to the Wounded Warrior Project. Again, we would like to thank each and every one for supporting this great cause and therefor supporting all of us, assisting them to help us and make the day to day burdens a little lighter. Wewere so glad to be able to meet up with Rachel - the second person who ran the Odyssey the hubby had attented at the end of the night and it was great meeting her, talking to her and thanking her in person for all that she does and telling her how grateful we are , telling her about the changes that have come already.

We went home with hearts filled of love and appreciation but we didnt go home empty handed. The Hershey Company is coming out with a WWP Reese Bar and WWP Hershey Kisses, supporting the Wounded Warrior Project for a time and Hershey donated some of them to all who attended this event. We also were given a Candy Dish shaped as a Hershey Kiss and a book. The book is called "The Power of Being Yourself" and was written by Joe Plumeri. Joe Plumeri donated the books to be given out at this event. How amazing of them to donate so much and give to the Wounded Warrior Project! I will write about the book ones I had the chance to read it. The next time you go out, keep an eye out for Hershey's Kisses & Reese's with the Wounded Warrior Project logo on them and get those. Again a great way to support this amazing cause and you get a sweet treat out of it too! Getting home was a struggle. Driving over 2 hrs home, being tired and full of thoughts, it made for a difficult ride but thankfully, we made it home without any trouble. Ever since we often sat and talked about how honored we are to have been invited, to have been able to attened this event, how grateful we are for all that we got to experience , see and the stories that were shared. You might want to safe the date for next years Wounded Warrior Project Awards Gala - May 26th 2016. If you can go, go. It is amazing and mind blowing. It is an event that will make you think and touch you in more ways then I can explain.

Wounded Warrior Project & the Elizabeth Dole Foundation

Veteran's and their Caregivers

I recently learned about the Elizabeth Dole Foundation who advocates for the "Hidden Heroes" - the Caregivers, those that save this country millions of dollars each year for all that they do. I am a Caregiver, I am one of so many. Alongside of learning about the Elizabeth Dole Foundation, I learned that there is a National Coaliton. That includes the Wounded Warrior Project. I am just going to say this. There is a huge list of supporters on this list and as I learn more about the Elizabeth Dole Foundation, I will eventually write a bigger blog about it. For now I just wanted to show you that the Wounded Warrior Project does more then what you see or read. Ask a WWP Alumni about how they helped them, see the faces , listen to their stories. Open your mind and hearts and listen not just to the Veterans but their caregivers. As with my husband, who manages to hide behind a mask and always carries a smile on his face, no matter how hurt he is or how hard he struggles, many of them do this.Honestly I do understand why they do it. Who wants to see anyone sad, who wants to see the hurt and the struggles and they often don't want to show it because it is too hard on them or because they want to be treated like a "normal" person. Not be treated different for all their struggles. Listening to the caregivers involved, they can tell you the true stories.People often think they - the Veterans - are "broken" , they are not broken, just so deeply hurt by all they have been through, all they have seen that it changed them. It changed their outlook on life, it changed how they live day to day and some of them, some of them can't fight the war at home anymore. The war that rages on within them. We are different, we have faced a lot, have lost a lot , have learned and keep on learning, keep on growing and keep on struggling over hurdles. The strength you find in Veterans and Caregivers a like is bigger an stronger then you will ever know. Maybe this blog will help you to see a different side of this Organization - a positive side and it has maybe brought you to consider to donate to WWP or get a backpack for a Wounded Warrior. If you feel compelled to do so,we would like to thank you from the bottom of our hearts and we want you to know how much of a change you make with your donation. If you still feel Wounded Warrior Project is not the cause you want to financially support but rather want to support a local Veterans Group, The Elizabeth Dole Foundation, the VFW , the American Legion, or one of the many that are out there, that is ok too and we Thank You just as much for doing that. Support Your Veterans because they have given so much for the freedom and the greatness of this country. Thank them when you see them, it means the world to them.

Something to consider for the near future... In Memorial...

I am above and beyond grateful to the Wounded Warrior Project and all that they do and have done for us. Due to the high amount of Veteran's that they help , they are currently only helping Post 9/11 Veterans. With around 77.000 Veteran's I can see it being difficult to add another group of Veterans to this organization however, maybe this has sparked a light in someone out there and you can and will start a organization like WWP, with all that they offer for those Veterans who fought in Dessert Storm ?! There are so many who struggle with the same issues and they need help, those families need help too and deserve the same treatment, help and support. You have seen how the Vietnam Veterans have been treated for many - too many years. Don't let the Dessert Storm Veterans be forgotten. This part I write in Memorial of my second Dad who served in Vietnam as a very young man, went on to serve time in Somalia and served in Dessert Storm. In December 2014, he lost his battle to Agent Orange. He is greatly missed every day and often I sit and pull up old emails he send me and reread them again and again. Often I wish I could pick up that phone just one more time and tell him how much I love him and miss him.

What's next....

I am actually considering to find a way to get more actively involved with the Wounded Warrior Project. They have the peer counselor program for Alumni's. There must be something I can do. Step up and do it is on the Agenda. Maybe they do have a job for me somewhere along the lines. I want to help, want to be active in this amazing Organization. The question is how but knowing these wonderful people who work for the organization,I know they will help me.

For more information on the Wounded Warrior Project or if you would like to donate to the Wounded Warrior Project, please visit their website at : https://www.woundedwarriorproject.org/

P.S. Some photos can be seen in the slide show on the homepage...

bottom of page