top of page

Bubba ...

October 2019, I remember it like it was yesterday... I got up in the morning, went to work for my am shift because I knew, there was no way I could sit at home before my appointment later on that day. I studied like a maniac, went over pre-trip inspections over and over again. Pulled my hair out and other hairs just kept on turning white and gray. Just a couple of hours later, after I got the biggest hug from my trainer who by the way is the BEST in the business, a phone call to my husband and crying a bunch of happy tears, I was handed a piece of paper, was told to go to this office and get my license. I was officially a School Bus Driver!


The next morning, I went to work and my boss lady handed me a piece of paper with directions, said take this bus there and go do this run. Wait for a second, what? Who is going with me? No one? Are you serious? But in the past, I had seen so many new drivers come and be sent out with another driver! Why wouldn't I get one?! She trusted that I could handle it all on my own from day one or maybe she just thought, let's throw her in the cold water and see if she can swim. I swam, Doggy Paddled, but I kept my head over water!!


When I got back from my first solo ride, she told me she was working on getting me my own run and getting me a bus. Just hours later, I had both. A run but not just one but a High School, Middle School, and Elementary Run and a Bus too! She gave me my very own bus!! WOW! I just started driving and I was getting my own bus WOW! A big yellow school bus I would be able to call my own. Get in every morning and drive for the day. As I went to check it out, I wanted to cry the happy tears and at the same token, wanted to cry sad tears because that poor bus, must have been through the wringer a few rounds. It was like a trash can on wheels! I did my best to clean him up. Scrubbed the walls, the ceiling, the windows, and even scrubbed the floors clean. He wasn't perfect but it was the best I could do. Over time, I could tell you every little noise, every little corner, every little trick to make it go.

Bus 2108 was my Bubba, my bubble, my place of happiness and I loved him dearly. I decorated the grill for every holiday, decorated the inside at times too. I wanted everyone who would step into it, feel safe and comfortable. I loved that bus. The mechanics fixed my seat and made sure it was high enough so I could see over the steering wheel without 2 pillows. We went on many adventures together over the next 2 years. He was my extension but sadly with time pressing on, the door was giving me a harder time each day. Mind you, Bubba is one of the few buses that still has a manual door and if you didn't hit it just right, the door at times would fly open while you drive. It got harder on my shoulder opening and closing it and with his retirement looming ahead I figured I could handle one more year with him. The arm and shoulder said No! though and even so I tried, Bubba and I had to walk our separate ways.

Bubba is 14 years in Service as a School bus, and with that, he still gets to drive a little longer but now is back to being a spare bus. So when you see him drive around your hood, know that he is still doing good :)


I packed all my goodies up and moved... not a Thomas bus, not a Bluebird bus, not a Freightliner either, but I got what I hoped I would drive again. Another International. A Newer Version "Bubba" but the new one hasn't shared its name yet, For now, all I know is it's Bus 135! A fancy, very perfect bus. I dressed it up a bit already. The photos are up, the drawings are up, next will be the decorations for the upcoming holiday. I love that it has a small cuppy where I can store my cleaning products and can even hide snacks ;) It has a working radio too! I always would get excited to drive a bus with radio - now I have one every day. We are getting to know one another but with every passing day, I get a little more comfortable, feel a little more at home there.


No matter what, when I hear Bubba coming around the corner, I know it is him from a distance because we shared so much time together and it pulls my heart strings a little. The First Bus I called "my own", the first bus I drove in a snow storm with, the first bus I did so many things with and he will always hold a special place in my heart. Thank You Bubba for being you, for all the firsts , for all the days you were there to help me do my job and transport little people and big people safely!


Maybe you can help and pick a name for Bus 135 ;)




bottom of page