top of page

...get involved...

Originally I started writing this blog to tell you all about my experience as a First Time Band Mom. To tell you all about Marching Band and about the incredible experience I have had with it. I was going to write about the Competitions, the Band Parent Association, Band Camp etc. but there is more.

It isn't just about Marching Band, it is about the incredible people I got to meet. The Band Kids who are the kindest, caring , most appreciative kids I have ever had the pleasure to meet. The kids that will go above and beyond for one another, who give 110% every day of the week, who build friendships and have a joy in their eyes and faces like it's Christmas morning for a toddler every time they step on the field. The kids who won't complain when the Sprinklers go on and they have to rush to get their equipment of the field and just carry on working harder and harder on getting the show to perfection. The kids that bring so much pride and joy to my heart that it makes be tear up and cry out of happiness. Its about the Band Parents that get together and make miracles happen and who carry the same love and joy in their hearts as I do. It's about the Staff who works so very hard to help these kids succeed. Who spend countless hours on the fields with them, teaching them and caring for them. When you speak to the Staff members, if Director or Section Leader, you see the passion in their eyes and faces that goes beyond "its just a job". I have seen things this year and learned things I would have never seen or learned if it wasn't for all these incredible, loving , caring people.

I could go on and on for hours telling you about each individual I got to meet. Stories I heard, things I have seen but no matter how hard I would try, I couldn't put in words the love it brought to my heart, the joy and the endless tears I cried because of pride. I could tell you for hours on end how we have seen our son grow, come out of the shell he has been hiding in for 15 yrs and I could tell you how much good Marching Band has done for him. I could tell you how touched I was when our Band Director pulled a kid, who seemed lost and hadn't found his spot into a circle of all the other kids and gave him the feeling of being a part and belonging. I could tell you how I truly wanted to go up to our band director and give him the biggest hug for doing this because I got to witness the smile on this kids face, I got to see how this kid went from being an "outsider" , a lost kid to being a part and belonging and in this moment, the smile , the joy and the excitement on his face spoke more then words ever could. It was like the sun came up after years of rain and this kid's life was saved. More often then not, it doesn't take much to turn a child's life around but a simple small gesture.

I have been blessed beyond words to have had the pleassure to meet them and get involved.

Our kids grow up way to fast. In a blink of an eye, they walk and talk and in another blink, they are driving a car and moving on with their lives. We, as parent's only get to be by their side for a short time. Get to hold their hand and guide them. Even more so a reason to get involved in the lives of our kids. No matter if its Marching Band or any type of sport or activity they like to be a part of . Its' the Teachers, the Coaches, the Band Directors & Staff Members, the Parents and the kids themselves who make each activity special and great! Get Involved! Enjoy every moment you get to have with your children.Be their biggest Cheerleader and their biggest Critic but GET INVOLVED!

You being a part of your childs life, or any child's life in that matter , getting involved, is like the Band Director who went and with a small gesture may have had the biggest impact on this kid's life. You can make a difference in this world each and every day. Do it!

Besides being a part of the kid's life. Being involved gives you the opportunity to make friendships. Meet people of different ages, meet people who's first language isn't the same as yours , meet people who don't come from the same social class as your own but you learn so very much from them all. It will open your eyes and look at things and life differently. You can learn so much if you just get involved. It will bring love and joy to your heart and an understanding of the world around you. It will make you a better person because you grow and you learn.

Music is its own language. You don't need words to communicate. Music does it for you. No matter what language you speak in words, Music is written the same way in every language.Music has a huge impact on us all. Just one way to look at Marching Band and if your kid wants to learn an instrument, let them and think about the horizon you can open for your childs life. Let them learn and grow, get involved...

Thank You to all the Band Kids, Band Parents and Marching Band Director and Staff for this amazingly incredible opportunity, for the love and joy you have shared, thank you for teaching me and helping me grow, thank you for the pride and the many happy tears you brought.You made me a better person and you have opened my horizon, gave me friendships, pride and joy like no other... I will forever be grateful to you.

Congratulations on your 6 times conscutive Atlantic Coast Champions, congratulations on a undeafeated season.

bottom of page