top of page

School Bus Chronicles - 2020

Things I learned over the years. When I became a School Bus Driver, I thought it was just what you think it is. You drive a big yellow limousine and you pick up, drop off kids while driving in a circle. That is what we all would think of when we think of a school bus driver, right?!


I guess I'm just not your standard school bus driver because if I would have to give you a job description it wouldn't be that. I would sit and tell you one story after another and one reason after another why it is the greatest job in the world. However, it's one of those jobs, that I love more than anything but the next person, would absolutely hate. I guess you could say this for every job out there...


Anyway, how have things been since we returned in September of 2020... Honestly, strange!! In the beginning, I drove "In the Sticks" for a while. I assume every region has their own slang for in the Farmland :) Here it's "in the sticks". I drove for a Vocational- Tech HS. I didn't care where I was driving, just glad to have gone back to work!! From there I did an Elementary School, then my 3 schools and the Elementary School, ( for one week and one day!) and back to only the Elementary school and again my 3 schools and the Elementary school. In between, I helped out with other different odd and end driving jobs. Here a school and there a shuttle. It all kinda twiddled together at one point or another and I learned a lot during this time. From one school I learned how they handled the sanitizing of the buses - outside of the disinfectant spray that was given to us from work, they had additional little tricks. The only thing I hated and hate to this day, are the masks. I miss seeing smiles on little faces, :( and not being able to understand them as well with the mask on but hey, we figured it out.


When I got the one Elementary school run, I didn't know where in the world I was but I learned it quickly and I learned about the kids fast. These littles grabbed a part of my heart so quickly, I didn't even know what hit me! They brought back so much that I was missing being a school bus driver. They brought sunshine on rainy days and laughter and joy back like no one else could have. The reason I became a School Bus Driver in the first place was the kids. Having little ones back on the bus every day, getting to know them, and hearing the laughter and the giggles, the excitement over every little thing, the stories, the tieing shoes, and all these little things brought back the passion I have for the job. This little school, in this little town with the little humans who rode my bus on 4 days a week gave me back the energy and so much more. I truly was happy. Over the few months, I had the chance to drive them, my love for them grew so neverending and when it came to an end, I cried so so very hard. It wasn't just the kids that touched my heart but the families. The parents and grandparents, that just went above and beyond for me during this time, always made sure I knew how much my work and I were appreciated there. On the last day there, two of my girls gave me a Hoodie with the following words "We picked the colors based on our school's colors, so you will never forget about us". How could I ever forget about them? Even without the hoodie? These littles gave me back so much and they will never ever understand how deeply they have touched my heart!! I truly miss them all every single day!! Sometimes, when I'm in the area, I look at the roads and think about the times I drove there, think of the kids, and deep inside, I wish that maybe I will see one of them. I hope someday soon, I will be able to return to this run, even if it's just for a day and visit or maybe just drive the run again to see if I spot one of the kids.


In November, for a short stint of not even 2 weeks, I was able to drive the run I had driven before Covid and I was excited but my excitement slowed quickly. I really thought, even with the hybrid model, I would get to see ALL of my kids again but here too, things were different than expected. Barely any of my "old" kids rode the bus this time and there weren't a lot of new kids either. I should have known that many would opt into staying virtual and wouldn't return at this time. I was amazed though over the few that I had the chance to see, how much they had grown and changed over the past 8 months. I had forgotten that this happens because, during the same time period, I saw my kids daily and didn't realize that this exact thing happened at home too. Just in time for Thanksgiving, the school was shut down, yet again and it stung. What we didn't know, at that time, was that the schools would yet again be closed for a long period of time. With the Holidays being back to back, the decision was made that we wouldn't return until January. It was devastating but I was grateful for all the odd and end runs, my place of employment found for me to keep me working through this time too. In addition, I had picked up a second job on the side. Honestly, I hated it! Nothing compares to being a school bus driver in my eyes.


So much was to come ones January returned but more about that in the next session of "School Bus Chronicles" :)




bottom of page